Hobby & Recreation Group
 The Old Book Closes. A New Book Opens For 2014
                                                  Lamar Racing

              Don Grave

Lamar Elks Lodge Saturday January 11.2014.  The Lamar Racing Club held its annual awards banquet to recognize the top
finishers in each racing class and the volunteers that work at the Lamar Speedway during the 2013 racing season. There were
85 people that came to enjoy an outstanding Rib Eye steak dinner prepared by members of the Lamar Elks Lodge 1319.  Kelley
Morris opened the awards presentations with a summary of the accomplishments of the racing club and the Lamar Speedway
during 2013. He introduced the newly elected club officers for 2014;  Keith Nidey Club President, Kelley Morris Vice President,
Sheyenne Spady Secretary, Amy Spady Treasurer. Board of Directors will be; Amy Spady, Kelley Morris, Matt Morris, Sheyenne
Spady, Don Graves, Raymond Dechant, and Keith Eldon Nidey. Keith Nidy Sr. presented Kelley Morris with a Certificate of
Appreciation from the racing club, to recognize Kelley for all of his accomplishments during the four years he served as president
of the Lamar Racing Club. Kelley introduced the 2014 schedule which will include the annual “Relay For Life” Mud Run, a
Demolition Derby, a night of Bar Bangers high speed flat track motorcycle racing,,Nascar Night when Kenney Schrader will be
making a special appearance in Lamar to sign autographs at the NAPA  store then racing our Lamar Modified drivers at the
Speedway that night. There will be Late Models, Sprint Cars and Dwarf Cars at the Speedway this season. September 20th, will
be a Laradon Hall Benefit Race.  Laradon provides programs and services to children and adults with developmental disabilities
and other special needs. There will be four IMCA sanctioned classes this year Modifieds, Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and Sport
Mods. Those receiving awards were;  Modified Class: Brady Coen Track Champion, Adam Morris Second, Darren Deloach
Second,Keith Stegman Third; Dusty Springer Fourth, Justin Beakley Fifth. Stock Car class; Johnny Yutterman Track Champion,
Kelley Yutterman Second, Brian Morris Third, Eric Munoz Fourth, Angel Munoz Fifth. Hobby Stock Class; Raymond Dechant Track
Champion, Jeff Callen Second, Fred Elliot Third, Don Woller Fourth, Rhett Proctor Fifth. Mini Stock class; Quinton Yutterman Track
Champion, Rayce Coen Second, Brendyn Nordyke Third, Johnny Cardova Fourth, Kolby Stegman Fifth.Hobby Truck class; Reece
Spady Track Champion; Sheyenne Spady Second, Keith Nidy Jr. Third, Braunwyn Miller Fourth, Silas Kapphan Fifth.  Econo
Class; Robert Storm Track Champion, Patrick Spurgeon Second, Bob Storm Third, Jace Nordyke Fourth.  The racing club has a
young drivers program called “Young Guns” This year’s young Guns were; Johnny Cardova, Kolby Stegman,and Patrick
Spurgeon. Volunteers received a free dinner and a Certificate of Appreciation. After the awards presentations many stayed to
dance to the music provided by Audrey and Steve Hernandez.  Photographs were taken by Abby Nolan. A lot of racing stories were
told and a lot of discussion about the new schedule and racers plans for the 2014 racing season. It was an evening of good food,
good drink, good music and good company, absolutely a good night for everyone.
Track Champions From the left; Raymond Dechant, Robert Storm,
Johnny Yutterman, Reece Spady, Brady Coen, Quinton Yutterman
 Master of Ceremony's   Kelley Morris
Speedway Volunteers  from the left; Amy Spady, Reece Spady, Mindy Ruddick, Rob Ruddick, Brian
Mcbroom, Jessica Mcbroom, Keith Nidey, Debbie Nidey, Raymond Dechant, Andy Woller,Crissy
Stegman, Kristell Stegman, Katley Beakley,  Brady Coen
Mini Stock from the left;  Quinton Yutterman,Johnny Cardova.
Kolby Stegman, Rayce Coen
Econo from the left; Patrick Spurgeon, Bob Storm,
Robert Storm
Hobby Trucks from the left; Reece Spady, Sheyenne Spady,
Keith E Nidey, Braunwyn Miller
Hobby Stocks from the left; Raymond Dechant, Fred Elliot,
Don Woller
Stock Cars from the left;  Johnny Yuttterman, Kelley
Yutterman, Brian Morris
Modified from the left;  Darren Deloach, Adam Morris, Dusty
Springer,Matt Morris, Brady Coen, Keith Stegman,
Grant Florence
Young Gun's from the left;  Kolby Stegman, Johnny Cardova.
Patrick Spurgeon
Back to
Home Page